Path of the Tribesman

The northern and uppermost ranges of the icy Baratok Mountains are home to a few scattered tribes of barbarians who recognise themselves by totemic names related to animals or to mighty ancestors. The Balinok tribes are the oldest dwellers of Barovia, but in ages past they were overthrown by other cultures and driven away so deep and far to the mountains as to almost become a legendary people. When Barovia fell under the curse of Strahd, however, several pushing Balinok barbarians decided to descend the mountains to see what happened to their old land.

As per most barbarian tribes, Baratok Tribesmen live by a fierce warrior culture, whose rules are written in blood and speak of honour, strength and cunning. The clan, above all other things, is what really matters for a Baratok barbarian.

Quite remarkably, amongst these barbarians, almost any tribe is of mixed race, with humans, elves, half-elves, dwarfs and other races being members of the same tribe. The only exception is the Bargrun Tribe, who was entirely turned vampire spawn by the Count some centuries ago. Soon, however, the Devil got annoyed with his new toy - deeming the Bargrun too savage to worth taming - and he forsook the tribe in the Baratok mountains, leaving it free to prey and feast on the other tribes' flesh!

Path of the Tribesman Features
Barbarian Level Feature
3rd Hammer of the North (1d4)
6th Tribe Bastion
10th Hammer of the North (1d6), Lightbringer
14th Hammer of the North (1d8), Sangor

Hammer of the North

Starting when you choose this path at 3rd level, you learn how to channel an extraordinary fury into your strikes, to smite the tribe's enemies with.

While you’re raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack takes extra force damage equal to 1d4. When you reach certain levels in the barbarian class, you can improve the force damage: 1d6 at 10th level, and 1d8 at 14th level.

Tribe Bastion

You represent a stronghold for your clan. The other tribesmen and the tribe elders see you as a valiant and staunch defender of your people, and expect you to live and die by this standard.

Beginning at the 6th level, if you are raging and another creature you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to suffer that damage in the original target's stead. If you do so, the surge of pain you feel ignites your fury, giving you the advantage on all your attacks until the beginning of the next round.


More than just one of the tribe's warriors, you are now a beacon of hope and might for your people. You are walking along the path of glory and kingship, and many companions within the tribe start seeing and treating you as a leader of men.

At 10th level you can use an action to cast a brilliant sunlight explosion in a 60-foot radius centered on yourself. Each undead creature in that light must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, an undead takes 8d6 radiant damage and is blinded for 1 minute. On a successful save, it takes half as much damage, but it's still blinded by this effect. A creature blinded by this spell makes another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. On a successful save, it is no longer blinded.

This effect dispels any darkness in its area that was created by a spell.

After you use this feature, you can't use it again until you finish a short or long rest


Arrived so far, you're now ready to become a Sangor: one of the immortal leader of the Balinok tribes, destined to great victories.

Starting from 14th level, when you are raging and you drop below half your maximum hit points, you get +4AC. The AC bonus lasts until your hit points are over half your maximum.

(2018) Author: Andrea Tupac Mollica V1.3



1 / 1